the gift of the Eucharist

by Kaitlyn Mason

untitled-design-8

As Mothers, we are programmed to pour out our love for our children.  It happens automatically and subconsciously.  We pour of ourselves.  Our children literally eat of ourselves – the milk we produce gives them nourishment.

In exactly the same way, our Mother Mary placed Jesus in the manger, a feeding trough for animals.  ‘This is your nourishment.  This is your bread.  This is your drink,’ she said to us through this profound gesture.

This is the gift of the Eucharist.

Mary poured out nourishment for Jesus with her body through her precious milk.  Jesus poured out nourishment for mankind with His body through His precious blood.

We are called to eat the body that Mary nourished for us.  We are called to drink the blood that Jesus shed for us.  And we are called to pour out nourishment for the world with our bodies through our precious merciful love of one another.

It is true that we are what we eat.  We must eat what is pure that we may become what is pure.

The milk that sustained Jesus was pure.  The blood that sustains mankind is pure.  So too must our merciful love be pure!

Let us guard our hearts that we might make of ourselves a pure and holy sacrifice, burning with merciful love that is pleasing to our God!

Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him on the last day. For my flesh is true food, and my blood is true drink. Whoever eats my flesh and drinks my blood remains in me and I in him. Just as the living Father sent me and I have life because of the Father, so also the one who feeds on me will have life because of me. – John 6:53-57

P.S. God loves you and He is merciful!  Pass it on…

