How Mother Mary Spends Her Days…

by Kaitlyn Mason

My 3 year old daughter and I were sitting outside in the middle of a bright, sunny, super hot day. We were talking about how nice it was that I’m able to stay home with her and play, and fix her meals, and take care of her each day. “I get to do those things with you because I’m very blessed that I don’t have to go to work,” I explained. She thought for a moment. “Yes and my Mother Mary doesn’t have to go to work, either.” “She doesn’t? What does your Mother Mary do?” I asked. “Well, she doesn’t work. She just sits and looks at her baby all day.”

My 3 year old daughter and I were sitting outside in the middle of a bright, sunny, super hot day.  We were talking about how nice it was that I’m able to stay home with her and play, and fix her meals, and take care of her each day.

 

“I get to do those things with you because I’m very blessed that I don’t have to go to work,” I explained.

She thought for a moment.  “Yes and my Mother Mary doesn’t have to go to work, either.”

“She doesn’t?  What does your Mother Mary do?” I asked.

“Well, she doesn’t work.  She just sits and looks at her baby all day.”

“Her baby Jesus?”

“Yes,” said my daughter.  “She looks at her baby Jesus all day!”

 

Now where in the world she got that, I don’t know.  I’m not sure it was from this world, actually.

But isn’t that what we all should be doing:  looking at Mary’s baby all day?

Out of the mouths of babes, right?

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a very visual person.  Sometimes I have to see a prayer card to remember to pray for a particular intention.  Sometimes I have to see a small statue of Jesus and Mary to remember the worth of my vocation as a Mother.  Sometimes I have to see my rosary booklet or I have to look down at my rosary ring to remember that I should take some time and pray.

God knows that we use all of our senses to process information and make decisions throughout our day.  So He has given us beautiful images as reminders to contemplate His goodness.

Sometimes I have to see the Divine Mercy image up on my mantle to remember to trust in Jesus throughout my day.

I find myself doing this more and more, looking up as I do the dishes, looking up as I fold laundry, and looking up as I just sit in our living room.  Each time, attempting to speak to Jesus from my heart, remembering the words my daughter spoke to me.  Remembering that we should look to Jesus all day.  We should trust in Jesus all day.

In all of the hard moments and in all of the joyful ones, too.  Jesus, I trust in you.

P.S.  God is merciful and He loves you so much… pass it on!

Copyright 2016 Kaitlyn Mason

