Help Your Kids Learn to Love the Sacraments!

by Kaitlyn Clare Elizabeth Mason

This DVD resource would make a great addition to any homeschool group, any parish that provides faith formation classes, or to any family wanting to help their children learn to love the sacraments.  I loved it… because when it comes to helping my kids love their Faith, I’ll take all the help I can get!

*This is a sponsored post but all opinions are totally mine.

 

My 2.5 year old daughter and I walked to the back of the church near the confessionals.  She had made a couple of bad choices and was becoming disruptive in Mass.  She asked me what the little rooms were for, and I explained the Sacrament of Reconciliation.

“These are rooms where you can go and tell Jesus you are sorry for things that you do wrong, or for bad choices that you make,” I explained.

She proceeded to kneel down and tell Jesus she was sorry for being disruptive in Mass, and for a couple of other incidents earlier in the month that I had completely forgotten about.  I was glad for her honesty and openness!

Amen, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will not enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. – Matthew 18:3-4

What a gift we have in the sacraments!  What a beautiful opportunity we have to share this gift with our children!

It’s great to instill knowledge of the sacraments when children ask questions.  But let’s be honest, they don’t always ask.  And they don’t always know what to ask – nor do I.  And I don’t always know what specifics to share.

So it can be difficult sometimes to know where to start when we want to share our Faith with kids.

I’ve experienced this both as a faith formation instructor and as a Mother.

Our family recently was blessed to receive a copy of the “Kids and the Sacraments” DVD.  It is a fantastic way to share our Catholic Faith with the next generation of little ones.

This DVD would be helpful for children in preschool or elementary school, although it could be used creatively for older children as a quick intro video to the sacraments as well.

Ever wondered how altar bread is made for Communion?  This DVD gives you a close up look at the entire process from start to finish by taking you to a convent in Kentucky!  You’ll also visit an olive orchard and see how olive oil is made, and then see how it is used in the sacraments.  This reminded me so much of when Mr. Rogers took viewers behind the scenes to see how things are made.

So I love that this video is kind of like a Catholic PBS show!

Children share their knowledge of the sacraments throughout the video, with little clips of them talking at playgrounds or in their environment, just like when kids shared their thoughts on the old-school version of Sesame Street or Reading Rainbow.

This is a great way to get your own kids talking!

This video has plenty of opportunities to pause the action and discuss the sacraments with your kids.  It’s perfect for the “think-pair-share” style of discussion.  This is where you first ask a question or give a prompt (which the video does for you).  Then you let students pair up with a partner, share their thoughts with each other, and then they can share their thoughts with the class or group.

This DVD resource would make a great addition to any homeschool group, any parish that provides faith formation classes, or to any family wanting to help their children learn to love the sacraments.

I thought it was awesome… because when it comes to helping my kids love their Faith, I’ll take all the help I can get!

The “Kids and the Sacraments” series can be purchased as separate DVDs for each sacrament or as a set of four (as shown in image above) on Amazon or from Paraclete Press.

 

P.S. God loves you & He is merciful!  Pass it on…

 

Copyright 2016 Kaitlyn Mason

