I Feel Better When I’m Dancin’!

by Kaitlyn Mason

Somehow squished kiwi on the floor, dirty diapers, mountains of laundry, and muddy paw prints don’t end up in the magazine pictures that are filed away in my head about what my life as a Mother is supposed to look like.

 

It is such a privilege to be a wife and Mother!  I am so grateful to have this opportunity.  I have an amazing husband and three wonderful children – all blessings.

Now I’ll be the first to tell you that today I really didn’t have it all together.  And as I sat there dwelling on this fact, I recalled a song that’s a little blast from my past John Mayer’s “Why Georgia.”

 

So what, so I’ve got a smile on

But it’s hiding the quiet superstitions in my head

Don’t believe me

Don’t believe me

When I say I’ve got it down

 

…Still “everything happens for a reason”

Is no reason not to ask myself

Am I living it right?

 

You probably know by now that I am a huge advocate for more lives in this world.  I believe wholeheartedly that every life is precious, valued, and loved beyond measure by God.

But that doesn’t mean Motherhood is easy.  That doesn’t mean I’ve got it all down!

And I certainly don’t have it all down at 4 weeks post-partum – ha!

As I adjust to caring for my husband and now three little blessings ages 3 and under, I do find myself with all kinds of misconceptions in my head about what my life is supposed to look like.

Somehow squished kiwi on the floor, dirty diapers, mountains of laundry, and muddy paw prints didn’t end up in the magazine pictures that are filed away in my head about what my life as a Mother is supposed to look like.

I do ask myself, “Am I living it right?”

I find that this particular John Mayer song brings me right back to the melancholy days of sitting in my drama-filled high school study hall, spending way too much money on Starbucks, and not getting asked to Senior Prom.

That song is so 2003!

So today when I looked around and saw squished kiwi on the floor, dirty diapers, mountains of laundry, and muddy paw prints, I realized I needed a new song in my head.

Today I changed my internal post-partum playlist.  Shook things up.  Opened up the blinds, pinned up my hair, put on actual shoes, made some real food to eat, went outside with my girls, put on some fun music – and we danced!

I had to force myself to start dancing.  It can be so hard to snap out of a “Why Georgia” mood…

But my girls love “Better When I’m Dancin’” from The Peanuts Movie.  So my oldest put on her white tap shoes, my little girl threw her head back and forth and grinned ear to ear, and we danced…

 

 Don’t think about it

 Just move your body

 Listen to the music

 Sing, oh, ey, oh

 Just move those left feet

 Go ahead, get crazy

 Anyone can do it

 Sing, oh, ey, oh

 

 Show the world you’ve got that fire (fire)

 Feel the rhythm getting louder

 Show the room what you can do

 Prove to them you got the moves

 I don’t know about you,

 

 But I feel better when I’m dancin’, yeah, yeah

 Better when I’m dancin’, yeah, yeah

 And we can do this together

 I bet you feel better when you’re dancin’, yeah, yeah

 

And let me tell you what – Motherhood is a tough vocation, especially when you’re post-partum.  But this is livin’ it right.

Now click here & crank up the volume, ’cause I bet you feel better when you’re dancin’…

Copyright 2016 Kaitlyn Mason

