Dear Mother at Barnes & Noble…

by Kaitlyn Mason

Dear Mother at Barnes & Noble... (2)

 

I recently made a trip to Barnes & Noble with my family.  We spent some time playing in the children’s section, and it was there that I encountered a beautiful woman and her son.  Before long, they left the store.  But this is what my heart wanted to tell her after she left…

Dear Mother at Barnes & Noble,

So I realize that I’m just a stranger.  I do not know your past, your hopes, your dreams, your journey, where you are from, or your favorite food.  I do not know your name.  I do not know anything about you, really.

However, we did cross paths one evening.  My children played near you at the store, so I know that you sat with your son and read books together that night.  I know that your son was reading a comic book, and he was eager to share the stories with you.  I saw the way your son looked at you.  I know that you put down your books and looked at him when he spoke to you.  You gave him your undivided attention.  I know that you two smiled and laughed together.  I could see that your son loves you very much, and for this you are incredibly blessed.

The Bible speaks of a woman of worth and says that “her children rise up and call her blessed” (Proverbs 31:30).  I am certain your son would speak kindly of you.

After awhile, I noticed that you left the store, and your books remained in the spot where you were sitting.  One provided tips on how to look forever young.  Another recommended ideal plastic surgery procedures for women.

And assuming that those books were for you, I just want you to know this – you are already so beautiful!  You are loved beyond measure.  Not only by your son, but by your Father in Heaven.

You are a woman of worth – just as you are.  Because God made you just as you are.  And God does not make mistakes.

Anyone who tells you otherwise?  They are mistaken.

“Charm is deceptive and beauty fleeting…” (Proverbs 31:30).

But God is never deceptive.  God is never fleeting, but is always with us.

And if you were to ask God, I am confident that He would never tell you to buy into the lies that you are not enough.

I’ve taken enough of your time now, but I will leave you with this quote from a woman named Marianne Williamson, from a book that I have yet to read, titled A Return To Love: Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles:

 

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

 

Let your light shine, and please do not fear that you are not beautiful enough.

I saw the way your son looked at you.

Love,

– Another Mother at Barnes & Noble

 

Copyright 2016 Kaitlyn Mason 

