A Gift for Every Marriage: The Power of a Praying Wife

by Kaitlyn Mason

A Gift for Any Marriage (2)

Image created with Canva

I’ve been praying for my husband for a long time. Actually before we ever met, way back when I was in high school, I remember asking God to please let me meet my husband as soon as possible. I figured that if I were able to meet him as soon as possible, I’d be able to maximize my time on earth with him. It just made sense!

And sure enough, on the very same day that I moved off to college – the very first day we were in the same city – I met my husband. It was move in day and my parents hadn’t even left town yet. My Mom gave me a choice that night, “Well, do you want to go back to the hotel with us or stay in the dorms?”

I chose the dorms. My random roommate and I walked around together meeting all kinds of people.

I remember the first time I ever saw my husband. He was sitting at a picnic table with a friend, a deck of cards, and just about the entire girls’ soccer team. Eventually some of the girls left the table and I made my way over. My life would never be the same.

Yes, I’ve been praying for my husband for a long time. But after reading this book by Stormie Omartian, “The Power of a Praying Wife,” I learned a totally new way of praying for him – one that I have found to be very beneficial!

This book outlines some of the key things that a husband faces in his daily life. Omartian goes through each one and explains how a praying wife can help to strengthen her husband’s role as the leader of the family. Chapters highlight areas that need prayer and attention in a man’s life. There are chapters dedicated to teaching wives how to pray for their husband’s work, his purpose, his health, his protection, and even his wife. It’s great because you can easily skip around and focus on chapters that are particularly needed in your marriage. You can also come back to this book months or years later and reread chapters as new challenges arise. And Omartian also includes sample prayers that provide a sort of template for a new way of thinking about prayer.

After reading this book, the phrase, “How can I pray for you today?” entered our marriage. This opened up a new way to care for each other as husband and wife. Rather than just repeating each day, “and God bless my husband,” I began to enter into deeper, more meaningful, and more fruitful prayer for his needs. As a result, I also began to really tune into the details of my husband’s life in a new way – one that was searching out how I could support him in prayer.

What marriage couldn’t use a little prayer boost? What marriage couldn’t benefit from a praying wife? Read this book and give your marriage the gift of a praying wife! There is even a version of the book that’s geared toward praying husbands as well.

How do you pray for your spouse? How might the phrase, “How can I pray for you today?” help strengthen your marriage?

Copyright 2016 Kaitlyn Mason

