The Day We Took Jesus to the Library

by Kaitlyn Mason

The day we took.png

Image created with Canva

 

It was a particularly mundane day. The girls and I made it to Mass, which really lifted my spirit. I remember standing by the doorway before leaving, looking up at Jesus on the cross at the front of the Church.

“I want to stay here with you,” I found myself telling Him. “There are so many things I have to do today, Jesus. Can’t we just stay here? It’s so peaceful here!”

“Take me with you,” was the reply.

I had never thought about it like that before – but I realized in that moment, that I really could take Jesus with us throughout our day. Physically, spiritually, and completely!

Don’t get me wrong, I know that you don’t have to go to Church or go to Mass to walk with Jesus throughout your day. And of course you can pray to Jesus at absolutely any time.

But going to Mass and being present in the Church is powerful. It’s such a beautiful and special place to meet up with Him and connect with Him in a unique way. Not only through receiving the Eucharist, but there’s also something special about just being present in that space. It is overflowing with rich, beautiful, Biblical symbolism everywhere you look.

Our Catholic Faith is amazing in that way! We have all of these beautiful, tangible reminders and symbols of our Faith! What a joy it is just to sit in the Church and to take it all in.

We walked out of the Church that day, and went to the library. Jesus went right along with us and our day was peaceful and happy. Mundane, yes. But isn’t there such a beauty in the mundane when we are at peace with ourselves, with our loved ones, and with the world? When we are at peace with Christ?

Today, by the grace of God, we made it to daily Mass. We are not able to attend every day right now, but we do try to attend when we can.  So when our 2 year old asked to go to Mass after breakfast this morning, guess what? I did my best to make sure we were there.

As we left the Church, I looked up once again at Jesus on the cross.

“Want to go to the grocery store?” I asked. Jesus is great. He always comes along.

Copyright 2016 Kaitlyn Mason

