Why We Keep Fighting with Loving Action

by Kaitlyn Mason

Why We Keep Fighting with Loving Action

We all know how this ends, right? The battle for life has already been won through Christ. So why fight for life? Why march for life? Why act and put forth effort when we already know the outcome?

It’s easy to give in to complacency here, isn’t it? We can be tempted to think, “I’m pro-life. I know who I am. Christ knows who I am. I’m good. I don’t need to do more. I can’t do more.”

It’s easy to come up with a myriad of excuses about why we can’t do more.

I’ve heard it said that all Christians are in a battle for life, regardless of whether we actually want to be in a battle or not. If that’s the case, then a Christian who has fallen into this complacent thinking pattern is like a fallen soldier.

We have to keep going and keep working with loving action! This is a battle that only love will conquer. And what a beautiful victory is promised to us through Christ when we persevere.

Truthfully, I don’t like to think of life as a battle to be won. Battles are messy. But what was Christ’s victory worth if there was nothing for Him to overcome? What is our eternal victory going to be worth if there is nothing for us to overcome?

Once in prayer, I remember telling Jesus that I’d love for Him to just come now and take us all to Heaven so there can be an end to all suffering, and so we can all celebrate with Him in Heaven – like, now. I felt this reply within my heart, “You need to work to earn your reward, or it’s not as sweet.”

Why do Christians choose to fight for life? Why do we choose to love?

We fight through loving action because there are still lives at stake. There are still souls whose fate is undecided!

Unborn children are awaiting birth into this world. Workers in the abortion industry are blinded to the Truth. Teenagers and lonely souls are contemplating suicide. People are imprisoned in jail cells and in nursing homes with no visitors.

“Amen I say to you, whatever you did for one of these least brothers of mine, you did for me.” – Matthew 25:40

To be silent today is to surrender.

Who can you reach out and love today?

