My Pity Party Antidote

by Kaitlyn Mason

MyPityPartyAntecdote (1).png

Most of my pity parties can be cured with a sprinkling of gratefulness and a heaping spoonful of humility.

I’ve learned to catch them early, and to identify their cause as quickly as possible. This lessens their duration and potency. But usually, the cause can be traced to feeling like I am not good enough or not pleasing others enough.

Most of the time this is ridiculous, and I know better.  God’s opinion of us is the one that truly matters. And as Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

Still, it can be a struggle to put that golden nugget of wisdom into practice.

Once in the middle of some major life adjustments, I sat down with a priest. After listening to my concerns, he asked me if I had ever heard of the “Litany of Humility,” and I had not.

This is a beautiful prayer – one that can silence my pity parties and snap me out of negative thinking patterns that can be oh so tempting.

Imagine a world where everyone was freed from constantly wanting others’ approval. Imagine a world where everyone knew God’s opinion was the one that matters. Imagine a world where everyone put others before themselves. Imagine a world where followers of Christ didn’t fear making mistakes in their daily work for His kingdom.

This is a taste of the freedom that the Litany of Humility can bring to hearts seeking Christ in all things.

I recommend this prayer to you in all moments of distress and worry, just as it was kindly recommended to me. And I pray that it will free you to act when you feel crippled by anxiety, for the betterment of Christ’s kingdom on earth.

“Whom shall I fear? Whom shall I fear? I know who goes before me. I know who stands behind. The God of angel armies is always by my side.” – Chris Tomlin, Whom Shall I Fear

Click here to view the Litany of Humility prayer.

