Words from Mothers Who Considered Abortion & Chose Life

by Kaitlyn Mason

Every Woman Who Ever Told Me She Considered Abortion & Chose Life Also Told Me This... (4).jpg

It all started with my sister. I received a phone call from my Mom that she was pregnant and contemplating abortion. I’d recently been trained as a hotline volunteer for a local crisis pregnancy center and was fully prepared to call her up and discuss the situation. So that’s just what I did.

All I can say is that God equips the called.

In the end, my sister chose life for her son. She told me in the months after he was born that her son was amazing. She said, “If I had only understood and known what this was, I never would have considered abortion.”

Pregnancy can seem so surreal. I know this because we are currently expecting our third child. While I know this to be a blessing and a gift, for me, pregnancy is still surreal.

I remember with our first daughter, I was literally pushing her out, and I asked the nurse between contractions, “So I just keep doing this, and a baby comes out??” They must have had a good laugh at my bewilderment.

Now, I can hardly believe there’s another life within me that I’m about to meet in a few months. It’s so hard to wrap my little human mind around the fact that this is a whole new person – a whole new soul –about to enter the world!

Is it a boy? A girl? I have no idea. Will he or she have freckles? Will he or she like to dance, run, swim, read, or sing? I have no idea. Who is this person?? I have no idea. It’s my child, but I haven’t met this child.

Why is it so hard to psychologically understand pregnancy? Because it is a miracle. The process of pregnancy and childbirth is completely miraculous.

So when women tell me they’ve considered abortion during their pregnancy, I’m not shocked anymore. We live in a society that tends not to believe in miracles. It is a society that is dishonest to women and plays on their bewilderment & awe at the news they are pregnant, telling them, “It’s not a life yet. It’s a clump of tissue. It’s just a pregnancy, not a child.”

How terribly sad. What an incredible lie.

I believe so many are vulnerable to this lie because in pregnancy, things have not been fully revealed to Mothers. It takes faith to believe you’re about to meet a new human soul face to face in a few months. That’s because the child is forming beneath a veil. Only God can truly know & understand who the child is and how he or she is being knit together in the Mother’s womb.

Since the birth of my nephew, I’ve had the privilege of knowing several wonderful women who considered abortion but made the courageous choice to give birth.

I find it intriguing that after a few months with their new baby, every single one of them has said the same thing to me – something close to this: “I can’t believe I was so selfish. I can’t believe I ever considered abortion. I didn’t understand that (he/she) was in there, but I’m so glad I got to meet my baby.”

I pray that more women will have an opportunity to meet their babies, and that more women will know it’s okay to be scared. It’s okay to feel like you don’t understand your pregnancy. It’s okay if you don’t feel a strong bond to your baby during pregnancy. It’s okay to be bewildered and in awe.

After all, this is truly a miracle. And it wouldn’t hurt the world to witness a few more.

