Rosary Beads & Cheerios

by Kaitlyn Mason

0001-101453649.png

My daughters love rosaries. My older daughter thinks they are special necklaces. Her Daddy has taught her to hold and point to each bead and say, “this is a Hail Mary, Hail Mary, Hail Mary…” They love holding the beads.

One day, we attended Mass just the girls and I. One of our special red rosaries was accidentally pulled apart.

I kneeled on the floor in the cry room, trying to scoop up all of the broken beads before the little one could put them in her mouth. They were mixed in with Cheerios that spilled all over the carpet just moments before.

I was frustrated. If my older girl had noticed this, she would have started singing the Daniel Tiger song to me immediately. “Mommy, when you’re feeling frustrated, take a deep breath! And count to four! One, two, three, four, five.”

She didn’t notice. But I felt like I failed because something special was broken. And I could have controlled this, right? I should have made sure she didn’t break it, right?

I looked down and saw rosary beads and Cheerios scattered around. Suddenly, I saw each bead as an individual and precious prayer – each Cheerio as an individual and separate piece of nourishment.

I realized in that moment that each of our prayers is nourishment for our souls. They pull us closer to God in a unique and special way.

And I’ve never thought of prayer the same since.

 

