Bigger, Bigger, Bigger, Like Otto: Christ’s Presence in the Eucharist!

by Kaitlyn Mason

TITLE HERE (2)

Sharing the Catholic Faith with children is a joy!  Okay, my oldest is two, so I only have two years of experience in this department.

But she takes everything in complete faith, which makes sharing a complete joy!  There’s a reason we are told to “turn and become like children” to enter the kingdom of heaven (Matthew 18:3).

At adoration, my daughter noticed Jesus on the crucifix.  She also noticed baby Jesus in Mary’s arms in a picture, and Joseph and Mary holding baby Jesus in a statue.  Right in front of us was Jesus present in the Blessed Sacrament.

After she pointed Him out all around, she said, “I want to see another Jesus!”  I needed to explain that they are all actually the same Jesus.

In a book called A Fish Out of Water by Helen Palmer, a fish named Otto grows bigger, and bigger, and bigger and continually needs new, larger fish bowls.  My daughter is very familiar with this story and growth concept.  She continually talks about how she is growing “bigger, bigger, bigger, like Otto!”

So I told her that Jesus is like Otto.

He started out as a baby, and there is Mary holding Him, and there He is with his family.  And then He grew bigger, bigger, bigger into an adult, and there He is up on the cross where He died for our sins.  And then He rose from the dead and went to Heaven and kept on growing and got bigger, bigger, bigger, and now He can be everywhere!  So there He is in the Eucharist!

At first, I remember not knowing how to explain this concept of Adoration to her… and I just looked up to Jesus and out came this beautiful description right in my daughter’s little language of Dr. Seuss books.

That is the Holy Spirit, not me.

When I told her it was time to go, she said, “No!  I want see Jesus again!”  So we stayed awhile longer on the kneeler.  What else could I do but let my daughter see Jesus again?

Thank God that we can always see Him again – through Christians living out their Faith in the world – but also both physically and spiritually in the Eucharist.  Thanks be to God!

“Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 18:4).

